It is currently 19 Feb 2018, 02:01

GIMP/GL QuestionsHow to change brush spacing in GIMP? (Showcase | Slideshow)

GIMP or GIMP LEARN forum related Questions
User avatar
tim

Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 5/15
Posts: 2155
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 7,887.02 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1193
x 256
Contact:
Canada

How to change brush spacing in GIMP?

Post#1 by tim » 07 Feb 2017, 19:56


This is somewhat confusing in GIMP for me. So I thought I would document it here.
In the below image, if you click on (1) and you see (2) (Brush Editor dialog). You think you can edit the brush spacing there. But you can't. It's completely locked (grayed out).
how_to_change_brush_spacing_in_GIMP_01.png
how_to_change_brush_spacing_in_GIMP_01.png # (143.86 KiB) Viewed 654 times (Watermarked | Thumbnail)
What you have to do to change brush spacing is (in the below image). Click on the brush icon that lets you change brush (1), then click on the paint brush looking icon in the lower right of pop up (2). Now you'll see spacing (3) (Brushes dialog). There you can change the brush spacing.
how_to_change_brush_spacing_in_GIMP_02.png
how_to_change_brush_spacing_in_GIMP_02.png # (221.88 KiB) Viewed 654 times (Watermarked | Thumbnail)
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

Registered members enjoy ads-free content
User avatar
tim

Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 5/15
Posts: 2155
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 7,887.02 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1193
x 256
Contact:
Canada

Post#2 by tim » 07 Feb 2017, 20:25


Other than me, does anyone find this confusing in GIMP?
I rarely change brush spacing, but after following Conbagui's tutorial, some steps mentioned change brush spacing. And I was so confused because of the grayed out (locked) spacing. I had to dig/play around a while before finding this.
I'll probably forget it again in the future if i don't change brush spacing too often... I find this part of GIMP not very intuitive.
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

No avatar
rich2005
GIMP Guru
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 3/15
Posts: 52
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 19:47
Cash on hand: 542.37 GLP
x 11
Great Britain

Post#3 by rich2005 » 07 Feb 2017, 21:21


...if you click on (1) and you see (2) (Brush Editor dialog). You think you can edit the brush spacing there. But you can't. It's completely locked (grayed out).

It is the brush editor and remember Gimp 'nix origins, the stock brushes that come with Gimp in 'nix are in a root directory and not writable by a user without root permissions. Hence it is grayed out. Make (or copy) your own brush is editable. You can see this in the Preferences Brush folder dialog.

Image
...Now you'll see spacing (3) (Brushes dialog). There you can change the brush spacing.
The spacing at the bottom of the brushes dock, is really in the wrong place. It is a tool option. That is where it will be in Gimp 2.10 just to add to the confusion ;)

Image
0 x




User avatar
tim

Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 5/15
Posts: 2155
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 7,887.02 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1193
x 256
Contact:
Canada

Post#4 by tim » 07 Feb 2017, 22:04


Thanks rich2005,
I noticed I can duplicate GIMP's default brushes but brushes that I added into my GIMP's brushes folders from Conbagui's tutorials, the duplicate button is locked (pale) and can't be used.
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

User avatar
Conbagui
Tutorial Creator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 1/15
Posts: 735
Joined: 03 Nov 2016, 12:56
Cash on hand: 30,030.57 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Allentown, PA
Website: http://gimpnexux.blogspot.com/
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
x 482
x 263
Puerto Rico

Post#5 by Conbagui » 08 Feb 2017, 01:26


Hi Tim. If you try to adjust any brush brush after it was created on the brush Dialog, you won't be able to do it. I don't know why, if you create a brush once you name it, you should be able to go back and redefine it.
Only on the brush Option you can change the Brush Size, Aspect Ratio and Angle. For the Brush Spacing, only on the Brush image Dialog you can increase and decrease it.
Hopefully I explained my self a little better. May be I have to start explaining this part on my tuts.
Attachments
capture-20170207-201653.jpg
capture-20170207-201653.jpg # (292.13 KiB) Viewed 617 times (Watermarked | Thumbnail)
0 x



Image

User avatar
dinasset
Script Coder
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 5/15
Posts: 718
Joined: 20 Jan 2017, 11:50
Cash on hand: 3,537.35 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Roma (Italy)
x 91
x 128
Italy

Post#6 by dinasset » 08 Feb 2017, 05:47


But unfortunately the possibility is not (yet) available in filters, at least on Gimp 2.8.18.
In spite of the available instruction (gimp-brush-set-spacing apparently without limitation), if you try to use it in a filter on a brush already created it's not accepted (only on a brush you are creating in the filter itself).
Rich, do you know if it will be in a near future? It's IMO a big lack on brushes use in filters
0 x




User avatar
tim

Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 5/15
Posts: 2155
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 7,887.02 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1193
x 256
Contact:
Canada

Post#7 by tim » 08 Feb 2017, 06:18


dinasset wrote:
08 Feb 2017, 05:47
But unfortunately the possibility is not (yet) available in filters, at least on Gimp 2.8.18.
In spite of the available instruction (gimp-brush-set-spacing apparently without limitation), if you try to use it in a filter on a brush already created it's not accepted (only on a brush you are creating in the filter itself).
Rich, do you know if it will be in a near future? It's IMO a big lack on brushes use in filters
By filters, do you mean the ability to script? Can't you just use brush-duplicate? and change the settings and then delete the brush after usage?
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

Post Reply

Last 20 Members Who Visited This Topic

User avatar gnerd (2)

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
• Featuring Members' Works (Image Attachments Only) •
1: tim
2: Pat625
3: gnerd
4: tim
5: tim
6: Issabella
7: animicule

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest