It is currently 23 Feb 2018, 04:59

GIMP/GL QuestionsLost GMIC? (Showcase | Slideshow)

GIMP or GIMP LEARN forum related Questions
Post Reply
User avatar
gnerd

Forum Member
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 4/7
Posts: 1242
Joined: 19 Jun 2017, 22:29
Cash on hand: 8,310.02 GLP
Gender: Gal
Location: NC
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.9.5
x 197
x 425
United States of America

Lost GMIC?

Post#1 by gnerd » 22 Jul 2017, 18:25


Not sure what happened but I lost Gimp error refused to let it open so I uninstalled and reinstalled but now I have only G'MIC 2.0 (qt) is this a replacement for GMIC? I believe a few other plugins are not showing up as well fx foundry I think it's called (not really sure what it was for or if I used it) but any suggestions would be appreciated. Or maybe I have to just move on and begin added what I need as go again. :?
0 x




Registered members enjoy ads-free content
User avatar
Pat625
Script Tester
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 2/7
Posts: 2238
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 03:35
Cash on hand: 13,329.14 GLP
Gender: Gal
Location: USA
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
x 8
x 470
United States of America

Post#2 by Pat625 » 22 Jul 2017, 20:39


The G'MIC QT is a newer version. It is supposed to be faster and generally better than the older GTK. 2.02 is the current last stable version.
Should work very well for you unless you use a program that calls for an old version. Do you know if using were using any of those?
0 x




User avatar
gnerd

Forum Member
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 4/7
Posts: 1242
Joined: 19 Jun 2017, 22:29
Cash on hand: 8,310.02 GLP
Gender: Gal
Location: NC
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.9.5
x 197
x 425
United States of America

Post#3 by gnerd » 22 Jul 2017, 21:27


Pat625 wrote:
22 Jul 2017, 20:39
The G'MIC QT is a newer version. It is supposed to be faster and generally better than the older GTK. 2.02 is the current last stable version.
Should work very well for you unless you use a program that calls for an old version. Do you know if using were using any of those?
Not that I can recall Pat so I should be good there!! Just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing a piece of the puzzle :)
Still trying to figure out why I can't save or export patterns or brushes (made for a tutorial) just keep getting error messages. A bit stumped but hopefully a light when come on soon! Thank you for the help!
0 x




User avatar
Pat625
Script Tester
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 2/7
Posts: 2238
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 03:35
Cash on hand: 13,329.14 GLP
Gender: Gal
Location: USA
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
x 8
x 470
United States of America

Post#4 by Pat625 » 22 Jul 2017, 22:52


For a simple brush, I just select it. Go to Edit/Copy visable, then Edit/Paste as brush or pattern. If you are doing something more complex here is a short tutorial with some explanations. There are many others also, will send them your way as I "rediscover" them. I've accumulated a lot of Gimp stuff and things get lost in there!!
Attachments
GIMP Brushes Tutorial.pdf #
(495.74 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
0 x




User avatar
gnerd

Forum Member
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 4/7
Posts: 1242
Joined: 19 Jun 2017, 22:29
Cash on hand: 8,310.02 GLP
Gender: Gal
Location: NC
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.9.5
x 197
x 425
United States of America

Post#5 by gnerd » 22 Jul 2017, 23:09


Pat625 wrote:
22 Jul 2017, 22:52
For a simple brush, I just select it. Go to Edit/Copy visable, then Edit/Paste as brush or pattern. If you are doing something more complex here is a short tutorial with some explanations. There are many others also, will send them your way as I "rediscover" them. I've accumulated a lot of Gimp stuff and things get lost in there!!
Thank you so much!! I will go there now as i'm still stumped :D
0 x




User avatar
RJKD
Tutorial Creator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 1/7
Posts: 1354
Joined: 03 Oct 2016, 13:01
Cash on hand: 10,354.44 GLP
Bank: 0.00 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Sheffield UK
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.20
x 1491
x 211
Contact:
Great Britain

Post#6 by RJKD » 23 Jul 2017, 09:00


If you use Windows, the latest G'MIC can take just a little while to 'kick in' after calling it from your filter list. If it doesn't show on your Gimp screen check your task bar.
It's a Windows thing.
1 x




User avatar
gnerd

Forum Member
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 4/7
Posts: 1242
Joined: 19 Jun 2017, 22:29
Cash on hand: 8,310.02 GLP
Gender: Gal
Location: NC
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.9.5
x 197
x 425
United States of America

Post#7 by gnerd » 23 Jul 2017, 22:34


Found the biggest problem I think. I didn't have my patterns or brush folders in gimp 2.8 but was adding to the ones in 2.0 :hammer_head:
So I copied (i'm to afraid to delete or anything further) and put folders in under the 2.8 and YAY they are there :yay_yay_purple:
Thank you all for taking the time to help and offer advise and suggestions, i'm so grateful!!
0 x




Post Reply

Last 20 Members Who Visited This Topic

User avatar gnerd (11), User avatar RJKD (3), User avatar Pat625 (8), User avatar tim (5), User avatar Issabella (1), User avatar Conbagui (1)

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
• Featuring Members' Works (Image Attachments Only) •
1: Wallace
2: animicule
3: gnerd
4: dinasset
5: dinasset
6: Ella
7: tim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest