It is currently 21 Feb 2018, 07:16

GIMP Script RequestsNew Transparent Image Size Layer Script (Showcase | Slideshow)

Post your Script Requests for GIMP here.
Forum rules
Request your Script(s) for GIMP here in this forum.
Provide details of steps performed in GIMP so that script can be written for the process and also give the request a name so that scripts can be named after.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pegleg44

Forum Member
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 2/3
Posts: 43
Joined: 29 Nov 2016, 03:12
Cash on hand: 258.13 GLP
x 11
Gimp Nation

New Transparent Image Size Layer Script

Post#1 by Pegleg44 » 22 Feb 2017, 17:16


So I've been using the new layer function in gimp for years and I can't tell you all the times I've had to use the mouse to click the OK button from the dialog box (so much work) that appears. But if there was a script that could do the following, that would be very helpful at times. I could replace my keyboard shortcut for "New Layer" with the new script and save a few seconds here and there. Here's what the script would do:

Name: New Transparent Layer No Dialog

1. [Layer] [New from Visible]
2. [Select] [All]
3. [Edit] [Clear]

Mouseover Discription: Quickly Creates a New Transparent Image Sized Layer

It seems that this script would probably leave you with a selection of all and the new layer stacked directly above in stacking order of the layer that was active before running the script.

Alan
0 x




Registered members enjoy ads-free content
User avatar
tim
Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 1/3
Posts: 2167
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 8,062.01 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1209
x 259
Contact:
Canada

Post#2 by tim » 22 Feb 2017, 17:41


please try this one: new-transparent-image-size-layer-script-for-gimp-444
I added selection none before and after your steps i hope that's okay.
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

User avatar
Pegleg44

Forum Member
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 2/3
Posts: 43
Joined: 29 Nov 2016, 03:12
Cash on hand: 258.13 GLP
x 11
Gimp Nation

Post#3 by Pegleg44 » 22 Feb 2017, 21:22


It works with no selection good because even if I use the shortcut for Fill with Background Color it still pastes it in. Just in case I want a white layer.
Works good.
0 x




Post Reply

Last 20 Members Who Visited This Topic

User avatar gnerd (1), User avatar Issabella (1)

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
• Featuring Members' Works (Image Attachments Only) •
1: Issabella
2: oldmangrumpy
3: oldmangrumpy
4: Conbagui
5: trandoductin
6: animicule
7: Issabella

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest