It is currently 19 Feb 2018, 17:45

GIMP Python Fu ScriptsSelect Area Between Paths Script for GIMP (for Mahvin) (Showcase | Slideshow)

Share your Python Fu scripts for GIMP here
User avatar
tim

Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 6/11
Posts: 2157
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 7,894.01 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1196
x 256
Contact:
Canada

Re: Select Area Between Paths Script for GIMP (for Mahvin)

Post#8 by tim » 06 Nov 2016, 03:02


I am not sure where that is coming from right now.
I'll try something and will update if i come up with something solves that.
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

Registered members enjoy ads-free content
User avatar
tim

Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 6/11
Posts: 2157
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 7,894.01 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1196
x 256
Contact:
Canada

Post#9 by tim » 06 Nov 2016, 03:20


I know why but i don't know how to solve it.
Too_complex_for_my_brain.jpg
Too_complex_for_my_brain.jpg # (43.76 KiB) Viewed 544 times (Watermarked | Thumbnail)
Currently, it's doing things like in blue, getting four points and select area within them.
But as you can see because there's a hump in the curves, the outline isn't perfect.
What we want to do is have it select like red shown in red, but that's too much for my brain right now :(
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

User avatar
Espermaschine
GIMP Blogger
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 3/11
Posts: 9
Joined: 06 Nov 2016, 02:27
Cash on hand: 130.13 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Germany
Germany

Post#10 by Espermaschine » 06 Nov 2016, 03:23


Maybe its because of the accuracy of paths ?
For example when you alpha select a text layer and make a path from that selection, often, when you zoom in real closely, you will see, that the path does not really "snug" the text layer closely.
There are some advanced options when you shift-click on 'Path from Selection' in the paths-tab. But i dont know how to use them.
0 x




User avatar
tim

Administrator
View: Showcase | Slideshow
Topic Posts: 6/11
Posts: 2157
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 00:16
Cash on hand: 7,894.01 GLP
Bank: 51,356.25 GLP
Gender: Guy
Location: Victoria, BC
Website: https://gimplearn.net
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Version: 2.8.22
My Personal Blog
My FineArtAmerica
x 1196
x 256
Contact:
Canada

Post#11 by tim » 06 Nov 2016, 03:41


If we started with selection then maybe because it has to approximate to fit the selection but fonts are already defined paths to start with. So i think it's flaw in my logic.
0 x



aka Tin
Image gimplearn.net                                              

Post Reply

Last 20 Members Who Visited This Topic

User avatar tim (7)

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
• Featuring Members' Works (Image Attachments Only) •
1: animicule
2: Ella
3: Issabella
4: Issabella
5: dinasset
6: Conbagui
7: Ella

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest